friends and loved ones

sunrise, sunset…

I recently came across this photo, and remembered this blog entry from 2 years ago.  I didn’t realize that I actually had caught the sunset in a photo… such a special moment that I treasure, my Grandma B, holding Mackenzie at age 1.  

(originally written July of 2010… )

My little family of 5 recently made the road trip to Grand Rapids Michigan to visit my parents. But we didn’t stop there, we continued on to the Georgetown Ontario area for a family reunion. It was a journey of epic proportions and we all are slowly recovering.

On returning to our little house here, I’ve been able to reflect on our trip. There were so many moments filled with emotion and wonder, I wish I could find a way to put them in a capsule and keep them for the days when I need them. But there is no way to make those special times tangible and so I know the memories will fade over time.

One of the reasons we really made the trip was for my grandparents. They hadn’t met Mackenzie yet and while they do have more than 25 great grandchildren, I really wanted them to meet all of my children. This is not an easy task because they live in Huntsville, north of Toronto which is very very very far from Chattanooga.

It seems that one isolated incident from our trip has carved a place in my heart and I will not forget it soon. We had arrived at my Aunt Sharon’s home in the evening and just finished sharing a delicious meal – my grandparents, my uncle Harv and Aunt Sharon were there as well as cousins Brent and Stefanie. As I stood at the sink with my Aunt working on the dishes, she commented on the sunset which we could see out her kitchen window. It was beautiful, reaching across the sky for miles – hot shades of gold, fuschia and tangerine.

By this time, my parents had arrived and were sitting in the family room, within view. My mom and dad were chatting with grandpa and grandma, who happened to be holding Mackenzie. Briefly there was a catch in my throat because I know that the chances of us all being together again before Heaven are very slim. We were 4 generations all in the same house – and I was blessed to see it happen.

Like a slow motion picture, I saw my precious Mackenzie, at her sunrise – bright and full of life. I saw myself in the noon day heat – hot and hazy with that big ball of fire high over head. My parents were into the late afternoon now, a bit of shade, maybe even rest once in a while. My grandparents were now living at sunset.

Eventually their sun will set, most likely sooner than later. And even though I’ve known this as long as I’ve been able to understand matters of life and death, its still hard. They have lived full lives and have blessed so many. They are an inspiration to each of us and yet the future is a struggle for me at times.

But, from God’s word there is encouragement that lifts my spirit. There will be a day when the sun will not set. Each of us who know Him will live as eternal beings in the presence of a Holy God. Truly, this is the hope that gives me peace, for now, and for the future.

“The sun will no more be your light by day, nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you, for the Lord will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory.” (Isaiah 60:19)

I’m hoping to make it back to my Aunt Sharon’s for another sunset by her kitchen sink. In the meantime I will look forward to the land of no sunrises or sunsets where I will live in the bright light of a risen Savior. Until Then…

My heart can sing when I pause to remember
A heartache here is but a stepping stone
Along a path that’s winding always upward
This troubled world is not my final home.

But until then my heart will go on singing
Until then with joy I’ll carry on
Until the day my eyes behold my Saviour
Until the day God calls me home.

The things of earth will dim and lose their value
If we recall they’re borrowed for a while
And things of earth that cause this heart to tremble
Remember there will only bring a smile.

3 thoughts on “sunrise, sunset…

  1. Mel, this one is so good. We remember the occasion with great fondness. Glad you reposted it with that picture that we did not see before. Love, Mom

  2. My darling Melody, I have just returned from saying our good-byes to Grandpa. Jeff & Heather were with me, as well as your parents, Aunt Nancy, Uncle Don & Aunt Zala and Grandma. Grandpa was very alert, and we had a precious time praising God for his amazing grace in all our lives. What a special time. Sending my love to you. Aunt Jean

Leave a comment